True Love = Obedience

John 14. Pretty well known chapter in the Bible.

I am the Way, the Truth, the Life. v.6

If you love Me, you will obey what I command. v.15

Know which one I’m talking about?

This chapter, Jesus is telling the disciples that He will be leaving soon and that the Counselor, the Holy Spirit will be with us. Two of the disciples had questions. They didn’t understand.

I want to focus in on a theme here in this chapter. If you love me, you will obey what I command…..Whoever had my commands and obeys them, he is the one who loves Me…

It is obvious that Jesus is linking love with obedience. To love God is to be obedient to His commands. To obey God’s commands is to show our love and dedication unto Him. To obey the commands without a deep love for Christ is legalism. Love. Obedience. As you can see, are inseparable when it comes to loving God.

I want to leave you with this thought. …but the world must learn that I love the Father and that I do exactly what my Father has commanded me. v.31

  • Jesus just backed everything He just said. He’s not only saying, but doing. Living His life as an example for us.
  • Jesus did this out of love, out of obedience to His Father. And that alone changed our lives. If you are obedient to the Father, He will use you to impact others.

Are you obedient? Do you do it out of love?

 

Leave a Reply

