A Broken Spirit & A Broken and Contrite Heart

When I sin, I ask for forgiveness and just shrug it off. I get upset at myself at first, but then I don’t think much about it. I obviously understand the concept of grace, but am I abusing it?

In James 4, James writes that I should grieve, mourn, and wail. In other words, have this feeling of deep distress. Sadness. Am I feeling that?

In Psalm 51, you read David’s prayer, David’s cry to God when he sinned. In verse 17, he writes ‘The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart…’ What David is saying is that God desires for us to recognize our own inabilities and surrender our situations to Him. In other words, humble ourselves. He doesn’t want you to go do something good so you can feel like that sin is no longer an issue. He wants your heart. True repentance.

Luke 18:10-14

Do you know what sin does to you and others? Do you know how God sees it? More importantly do you know what it does to your close personal, relationship with God?

My point in all of this is not to be all down on all of this. Jesus has already redeemed us. We ARE forgiven. And there’s nothing that we can do to earn that. It’s simply by His grace. But how do you view that grace? Something you earn or a gift He’s given us? How you react to sin will show your views on that.

Leave a Reply

